As Dust Dances – ARC Review

Surprise, Surprise I’m back with another Samantha Young ARC review.  This time it’s for As Dust Dances, which is Play On book 2.  This arc was provided in exchange for an honest review so come on down and check it out!

As Dust Dances

 

 

AS DUST DANCES – SAMANTHA YOUNG

As Dust Dances Cover

Series: Play On #2

Publication Date: 08 | 07 | 18

Publisher: Self

Genre: New Adult, Adult Romance, Contemporary Romance

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Once upon a time Skylar Finch was the lead singer of a hugely successful American pop-rock band. But fame made her miserable. When years of living a lie suddenly ended in tragedy, Skylar fell off the map.

Eighteen months later she’s sleeping in a tent in a cemetery in Glasgow, making just enough money to eat by busking on the streets. She manages to avoid recognition, but not the attention of one of Glasgow’s ambitious A&R executives.

Killian O’Dea works at Skyscraper Records, Scotland’s most successful record label. Raised by his uncle and owner of the label, Killian’s upbringing would have been devoid of affection entirely if it wasn’t for his loving sister. Killian is unflinchingly determined to bring the label more success than ever, and the young homeless woman who busks on Buchanan Street is going to help him do that. Her music speaks to him in a way he refuses to over-analyze. All he knows is that if it can touch his dark soul, it’ll set everyone else’s alight.

Skylar makes it clear that she doesn’t want to sign with him. But when she experiences the dangerous reality of a woman sleeping rough, Skylar has no one else but Killian to turn to. An undeniable connection forms between them. But Skylar doesn’t want the career Killian is trying to forge for her, and when her past comes back to haunt her Killian will be faced with a decision that could ruin him. He must either free Skylar from his selfish machinations and destroy everything he’s ever worked for, or lose a woman who has come to mean more to him than he ever thought possible…


I’m so glad to say that I am a part of the Samantha Young review team because as you know, or if you don’t you will, I am a massive Sam Young fan.  Seriously.  Her romances are steamy, sweet, and so delightful.  I often find myself recommending her books because while they have a delicious romance, the plot isn’t compromised by the romance.  They’re delightful and woven together to create a story that you will be swooning, grinning, and probably crying at some point in.

Now, for my review of As Dust Dances:

AHHH MYYYY STARS THIS BOOOOOOOOOOKKK. I LAUGHED. I CRIED. I RAGED. I JOYED. (NOT A WORD BUT I FELT IT).

Dust is set in the Play On universe, but it is not necessary to read Play On to follow Skylar and Killian’s story.  (However, I do suggest reading Play On because it’s fantastic!) I had such a wonderful time reading this book because it’s set in Glasgow! As you may know, I did a study abroad in Glasgow, reading about these familiar places wishing I was back there living in a Samantha Young romance novel… well, that was pretty much the embodiment of my life. Ha!

I was really surprised at how quickly I connected to Skylar’s story.  Once a successful music star, Skylar has found herself living on the streets of Glasgow, busking through the city trying to maintain her anonymity.  I was really captured by how Samantha portrayed Skylar’s struggle with fame and success.  Living a life in the spotlight is not an easy thing, especially how outsiders feel like they have an input in your life.  Skylar’s struggle with wanting to follow her dreams and create music that she loves with the magnifying glass on her life was written so well.  I found my heart aching for Skylar.  Disappearing allowed her to escape the spotlight, but not quite in the way she imagined.

Enter Killian O’Dea.  Killian spots Skylar busking on the streets and immediately wants her for Skyscraper Records.  Killian’s no nonsense attitude is something that Skylar needs, but he also knows how to be soft when it’s necessary.  I have a thing for hot Scots, and Killian is definitely up there in the dreamy book babe category.  I loved his devotion to his sister, Autumn.

As Dust Dances is a story of healing and finding yourself and your strength in some of the darkest times.  Watching Skylar heal through music and creating new relationships and reforming old ones was a lovely story.  Skylar and Autumn’s friendship was one of my favorite parts of Dust because they were both what the other needed.

Also, Samantha, please please please give us an Autumn book because I absolutely ADORED her.

I’m not sure how Samantha keeps creating such incredible romances, but I hope she never stops because she is hands down one of my go to reads.  I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve re-read her books, and I am always recommending them.  And obviously I’m SHOUTING MY RECOMMENDATION OF AS DUST DANCES!!! Fans of Joss and Braden will love Skylar and Killian, and if my review  hasn’t swayed you, that definitely should!


PREORDER NOW:

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo


Want to connect with Samantha?

https://authorsamanthayoung.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorSamYoung

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authorsamanthayoung/?hl=en

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/samantha-young

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s